C- Section Awareness Month

image

Thanks to c-sections being available I am able to say my daughter is a healthy little girl. Without one it could have been a completely different story.
🌼🌼🌼
I went for my routine midwife apointment Friday morning and I was already 6 days over my due date. Babys heart rate wasn’t right so I was sent to get checked over at the hospital.
After being on a heart monitor for over an hour they still where not happy and decided it would be best for baby and myself if I went to the Women’s Hospital in Liverpool to be induced and get the baby moving.

After being induced, I was finally ready to be transferred to the delivery suite at 1am (10hrs after arriving)

This was it!! I was going to meet my baby for the first time! The adrenaline was nothing like I had experienced before.

I wanted a water birth but because of all the drips I needed, this wasn’t possible.

A few hrs had passed and I was not dilating anymore but the pain was ridiculous. I was constantly throwing up and no pain relief was making me comfortable.

Middle of the afternoon on Saturday and 3 midwives later my body eventually gave in. I was going in and out of consciousness and rememeber very little from this point.
What I do remember was my mum telling my fiance when a contraction was coming so he could put the gas and air in my mouth and tell me to ‘go!’ In the hope that i was conscious enough to breathe in. At this point I had only dilated an extra 1cm from when I arrived.

It was midwife change over in an hr and they said they where going to leave me a bit longer. My fiance was not happy and pointed out it was obvious that there was no way I was going to be able to push the baby out. Next thing I remember being woken up with a surgeon standing over me and asking me questions and telling me the baby was in distress so they needed to act asap.

I was having a c – section.

As soon as they took the drips out of my arms, my contractions completely stopped…..very clear my body would not have been able to push the baby out.

From what I can remember the surgery was very quick and at 5.03pm on Saturday my beautiful baby girl was born.

image

Later on I was told she was stuck in my pelvis and there was no way I would have been able to deliver her naturally.

When she was born, I had remarks off people saying ‘oh so you couldnt get her out, so you went for the easy option’ and ‘you where just tired’.
When you have just had a baby, those remarks are enough to make you suffer with depression.

People think that having a section is the easy way out. You don’t get a section because you ‘can’t be bothered’. You get them because it is in the best interest of your baby and yourself. The NHS is struggling as it is, so they are not going to give them to just anyone.

Without the quick thinking of my birthing partners, the midwives and surgeon my daughter and I would not be here.

I am so very thankful for each and every person who helped me from the Friday I went for my routine check-up up until I was finally allowed home Monday night.

If you know someone who has had a section, please ‘think’. Everyones circumstances are different and your remarks might just be the one that send them over the edge. Every delivery is different, just like every pregnancy.

image

One thought on “C- Section Awareness Month

  1. Natalie says:

    Well done for sharing your story hun, it’s very brave of you and I hope writing it down helped with your healing process πŸ™‚ So happy that both you and her are safe and healthy now πŸ™‚ I’m utterly appalled at some of the comments you’ve had thrown at you! You’re a fantastic mummy and your happy daughter is proof of that πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

